Sirens

One of the very first things I noticed about Ukraine was the lack of sirens. Back home, I would fall asleep to the sound of sirens and street traffic but there was none of that here.

I had a dream this morning that I was staring out at a sapphire blue sea from the wooden deck of an old school ship. Cannons kept going off. I was puzzled because I couldn’t feel the rocking of the ocean.

I was merging my dreams with reality.

There are blasts going off periodically and the sirens have not stopped all morning. It sounds like the world decided to play Pirates of the Caribbean and the Wire at full volume.

I hear popping noises. I know what they are; I’m just reluctant to accept it.

The protesters in my apartment had a heated discussion this morning. They are gearing to head out.

Leave a Reply

