Something’s Afoot

There was a brief thunderstorm and when I came home, this was the sight that greeted me.

Dirty Boy

DIRTY BOY!!! He’s usually clean. When I walked into the kitchen I found further evidence of foul play.

Massacred Roll of Paper Towels

What happened?! His paws and mouth were dark grey and the paper towel roll was also dirty but no matter how hard I looked, I could not find out what happened.

I’m inclined to believe my dog is a genius and that he made a mess which he later decided to clean up with that paper towel roll. Unfortunately, my mom came home and debunked that theory.

He got scared during the thunderstorm and climbed into the pantry. This has happened before, but my mother had just put a bag of old school charcoal (I’m Korean – we take our grilling seriously) in the bottom and my dog decided it was a good place to dig out a nest and seek shelter. Last time it was a bean massacre that stretched to the living room.

Lesigh… but I still love him to pieces. How can you not love this face?!

Real Live Teddy Bear

I was 14 when we drove 4 hours to southern Maryland to pick up the best thing that ever happened to me. I found my furry best friend and he warms the cockles of my heart. I spent the entire drive home in the back seat with him cradled to my chest.

His name is Gucci (He’s actually named after a StarCraft gaming room. What can I say? I’m a dork… Resource management for the win). He is the quirkiest dog to ever walk this earth.

Gucci Facts:

  1. He knows how to eat off a fork and chopsticks.
  2. His favorite treat is watermelon. I can’t eat it without him asking me for some. We share. I bite small pieces off for him.
  3. He LOVES large barnyard animals. The bigger the better. I once ran a mile down the C&O canal because he insisted on making the acquaintance of a park ranger horse. He dragged me after a TROTTING HORSE for a MILE.
  4. Every few hours, he checks up on people in the house. If he comes upon a closed door he’ll knock until you open it, stare at you for a few minutes, and then leave.
  5. He stops to smell the flowers
  6. Every night he says goodnight to everyone and then comes to my room where he begs to be let up onto the bed. When I reach down to pick him up he gives a tiny jump to help me out
  7. He initiates games of hide and seek. Our version is a hybrid of hide and seek and chase. He will give false starts until I chase after him and when I “catch” him, he’ll run after me until I disappear around a corner. Then he’ll cautiously look behind doors until I suddenly jump out at him at which point he does a mad dash in the opposite direction and the chase starts all over again. We have wooden floors so it makes the game a million times more hilarious

I’m going to put him in my suitcase and take him with me to Ukraine.

Gucci in a Suitcase

2 thoughts on “Something’s Afoot

Leave a Reply

